Sign in to follow this  
aishiteru

Brown Sauce

Dear all,

Any good brown sauce recipe to share???

i'm thinking to make some brown sauce for chicken chop and homemade mash potatoes

:P

hi aishiteru

i have 1 here but its a bit ma fan lah but its worth a try bcoz its all made of raw material n not artificial. I got this recipe from my lecturer when im studying in the hospitality college last time. This is the brown sauce that normally use by hotels n restaurants.

Ingredients:

Mirepoux - consist of a carrot cut into cubes with the skin on or if u feel a bit waste to use the whole carrot then u can just peel the skin n cut the head n tail of the carrot to use in it then carrot u can use it to cook other things, a bombay onion cut into cubes, some celery - choose those not so nice 1 then just simply cut cut n throw it in

beef bone or chic bone but recommended to use beef bone taste better

Roux (made of oil n flour - ratio is 1 cup of oil with 1 cup of flour)

Method

1. Burn the beef bone a little in a pot with some oil then add in the mirepoux (carrot, onion n celery) let it burn for a while.

2. Add in water and let it boil for at least 1 1/2 hour. Can add in abit of salt to taste.

3. Strain the soup out from the pot then leave it aside.

4. Prepare roux - in a small sauce pot put in the oil n heat it until its very hot, use a whisk to add in the flour little by little until u get a sticky white thing like glue.

5. Then reheat the soup n add in bit by bit of the roux until you get a thick brown sauce. U can add in some button mushroom or black pepper if you like.

Hope this can help u to get something out of it. Happy trying.

Cheers.

Just some time ago, I made mushroom brown sauce for my mash. I think it'll go very well with roast or even dressing for noodles and salads.

No proper recipe as I modified from a few I saw.